California California SB 55 - Prohibited Persons Charles Yeganian · December 13, 2018 California SB 55by Sen. Hannah-Beth JacksonLEAP Forward Position: Support Existing law, subject to exceptions, provides that any person who has been convicted of certain misdemeanors may not, within 10 years of the conviction, own, purchase, receive, possess, or have under their custody or control, any firearm. Under existing law, a violation of this prohibition is punishable by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year or in the state prison, by a fine not exceeding $1,000, or by both that imprisonment and fine. Existing law makes it a misdemeanor or a felony for a person who is prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm pursuant to these provisions to own, possess, or have under their custody or control, any ammunition or reloaded ammunition.This bill would add to the list of misdemeanors, the conviction for which is subject to those prohibitions, misdemeanor offenses of violating the 10-year prohibition on possessing a firearm specified above.The bill would also apply the above 10-year prohibition to a person who has been convicted of 2 or more specified misdemeanors, or 2 or more convictions of a single specified misdemeanor, in a 3-year period involving alcohol intoxication or possession of certain controlled substances for sale and would make a violation punishable as an infraction. The bill would impose a new 10-year prohibition to a person who commits another of those misdemeanors during the initial 10-year prohibition period, and would make a violation punishable as an infraction. The bill would also make it an infraction for a person prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm pursuant to these provisions to own, possess, or have under their custody or control, any ammunition or reloaded ammunition. By changing the definition of a crime, and by creating new crimes, this bill would impose a state-mandated local program.