New Mexico New Mexico HB 25 - Firearms Licensee Stolen Gun Checks Charles Yeganian · December 19, 2018 New Mexico HB 25by Rep. Miguel GarciaLEAP Forward Position: Support A. A federal firearms licensee shall, within one business day of purchasing a firearm in the licensee’s ordinary course of business, request the department of public safety to use resources available to the department to determine if the firearm is stolen. The department shall advise the licensee of the determination within three business days of the request. If the department determines that the firearm is stolen, the licensee shall surrender the firearm to the department or to local law enforcement. If the firearm is surrendered to local law enforcement, the licensee shall provide evidence of the surrender to the department. B. On or before July 1 of each year, a federal firearms licensee shall pay an annual fee of two hundred dollars ($200) to the department of public safety to administer the provisions of this section. C. A licensee that willfully or knowingly violates the provisions of this section shall be subject to a civil penalty of two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500), or the value of the firearm purchased, whichever is greater, for each violation.