Oregon Oregon SB 501 - Firearms Omnibus Charles Yeganian · January 12, 2019 Oregon SB 501by Sens. Rob Wagner (D), Andrea SalinasLEAP Forward Position: Support Requires person to secure permit before purchasing or otherwise receiving firearm. Specifiesqualifications for permit and manner of applying for permit. Creates procedures for appealing denialof permit. Punishes receipt of firearm without valid permit by maximum of 364 days’ imprisonment,$6,250 fine, or both.Requires person who owns or possesses firearm to secure firearm with trigger or cable lock orin locked container. Punishes failure to secure firearm by maximum of 30 days’ imprisonment, $1,250fine, or both.Requires person who owns or possesses firearm to report to law enforcement agency loss ortheft of firearm within 24 hours. Punishes failure to report loss or theft by maximum of 30 days’imprisonment, $1,250 fine, or both.Prohibits possession of magazine with capacity to hold more than five rounds of ammunition.Provides that person in possession of such magazine must sell or otherwise dispose of magazinewithin 180 days of effective date of Act. Punishes unlawful possession of magazine capable of holdingmore than five rounds by maximum of 364 days’ imprisonment, $6,250 fine, or both.Requires criminal background check before transfer of ammunition. Restricts ammunition receipt to 20 rounds within 30-day period.Prohibits transfer of firearm by gun dealer or private party until latter of 14 days or Departmentof State Police has determined that recipient is qualified to receive firearm.