North Carolina HB 86 - Gun Violence Prevention Act
by Reps. Christy Clark (D), Pricey Harrison (D), Marcia Morey (D), Shelly Willingham (D), with Reps. John Autry (D), Cecil Brockman (D), Deb Butler (D), Carla Cunningham (D), Allison Dahle (D), Susan Fisher (D), Zack Hawkins (D), Rosa Gill (D), Verla Insko (D), Nasif Majeed (D), Grier Martin III (D), Amos Quick III (D), Kandie Smith (D), Evelyn Terry (D)
To remove assault weapons and large capacity ammunition feeding devices from circulation, and for other purposes.
AN ACT TO REQUIRE THE REGISTRATION OF ASSAULT WEAPONS AND TO REQUIRE THE REPORTING OF LOST OR STOLEN FIREARMS.
This Act prohibits the manufacture, sale, offer to sell, transfer, purchase, receipt, possession, or transport of assault weapons in Delaware, subject to certain exceptions. One exception relevant to individuals is that the Act does not prohibit the possession and transport of firearms that were lawfully possessed or fully applied for before the effective date of this Act; although for these firearms there are certain restrictions relating to their possession and transport after the effective date of this Act. This Act creates a voluntary certificate of possession, to enable persons who lawfully possess an assault weapon before the effective date of this Act to be able to prove ownership after the effective date of this Act.
Banning the sale or possession of Assault Weapons for Individuals under the age of 21
Prohibits the manufacturing, importation, sale, shipment, delivery, possession, or transfer of any firearm that is undetectable by metal detectors commonly used at airports and public buildings including 3D printed firearms as defined herein.
Requires person who owns assault weapon on effective date of Act to register assault weapon or take other specified action within one year of effective date of Act. Defines terms. Punishes violation by maximum of $2,000 fine, or by maximum of six months' imprisonment, $2,500 fine, or both, for second and subsequent convictions. Prohibits manufacture, transfer or possession of assault weapon except in specified circumstances. Punishes by maximum of 364 days' imprisonment, $6,250 fine, or both. Requires report of loss or theft of assault weapon. Punishes failure to report by maximum of 364 days' imprisonment, $6,250 fine, or both. Provides that information in report may not be used in prosecution for possession or transfer of assault weapon. Declares emergency, effective on passage.
To regulate assault weapons, to ensure that the right to keep and bear arms is not unlimited, and for other purposes.
Gun Violence Prevention Act
An Act amending Title 18 (Crimes and Offenses) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, in firearms and other dangerous articles, providing for assault weapons and large capacity magazines.
In firearms and other dangerous articles, prohibiting certain assault weapons.