Repeals, revises and reenacts provisions relating to background checks for certain sales or transfers of firearms
Firearms transfers and private party firearms transfers criminal background checks requirement
Background Check Expansion Act
Requirements for the sale of firearms at gun shows or over the internet.
Magistrates and Clerks of Court
Amends the Firearm Owners Identification Card Act. Provides that the Department of State Police shall conduct a search of the purchasers' social media accounts available to the public to determine if there is any information that would disqualify the person from obtaining or require revocation of a currently valid Firearm Owner's Identification Card. Provides that each applicant for a Firearm Owner's Identification Card shall furnish to the Department of State Police a list of every social media account.
Establishes a waiting period before a firearm, shotgun or rifle may be delivered to a person; requires either the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) or its successor has issued a "proceed" response to the licensee, or thirty calendar days have elapsed since the date the licensee, seller, transferor or dealer contacted NICS to initiate a national instant criminal background check and NICS has not notified the licensee, seller, transferor or dealer that the transfer of the firearm, rifle or shotgun to such person should be denied
Requires person to secure permit before purchasing or otherwise receiving firearm. Specifies
qualifications for permit and manner of applying for permit. Creates procedures for appealing denial
of permit. Punishes receipt of firearm without valid permit by maximum of 364 days’ imprisonment,
$6,250 fine, or both.
Requires person who owns or possesses firearm to secure firearm with trigger or cable lock or
in locked container. Punishes failure to secure firearm by maximum of 30 days’ imprisonment, $1,250
fine, or both.
Requires person who owns or possesses firearm to report to law enforcement agency loss or
theft of firearm within 24 hours. Punishes failure to report loss or theft by maximum of 30 days’
imprisonment, $1,250 fine, or both.
Prohibits possession of magazine with capacity to hold more than five rounds of ammunition.
Provides that person in possession of such magazine must sell or otherwise dispose of magazine
within 180 days of effective date of Act. Punishes unlawful possession of magazine capable of holding
more than five rounds by maximum of 364 days’ imprisonment, $6,250 fine, or both.
Requires criminal background check before transfer of ammunition. Restricts ammunition receipt to 20 rounds within 30-day period.
Prohibits transfer of firearm by gun dealer or private party until latter of 14 days or Department
of State Police has determined that recipient is qualified to receive firearm.
A bill for an act
relating to public safety; requiring criminal background checks for firearms transfers;amending Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections 624.7131; 624.7132; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 624.
Relating to public safety; requiring criminal background checks for firearms 1.3 transfers; amending Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections 624.7131; 624.7132; 1.4 proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 624.