LEAP Forward
Politicizing Guns since 2017

Legislation

Oregon HB 3149 -Minimum Age

Oregon.png

Oregon HB 3149

Relating to the minimum age requirement for transfer of firearms.

by Jennifer Williamson (D)


LEAP Forward Position: Support

Explanation: Pending

500px-Blue_check.svg.png

(1) Except as provided in subsection (2) of this section, all persons within the juris diction of this state are entitled to the full and equal accommodations, advantages, facilities and privileges of any place of public accommodation, without any distinction, discrimination or re striction on account of race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, national origin, marital status or age if the individual is of age, as described in this section, or older. (2) Subsection (1) of this section does not prohibit: (a) The enforcement of laws governing the consumption of alcoholic beverages by minors and the frequenting by minors of places of public accommodation where alcoholic beverages are served; (b) The enforcement of laws governing the use of marijuana items, as defined in ORS 475B.015, by persons under 21 years of age and the frequenting by persons under 21 years of age of places of public accommodation where marijuana items are sold; or (c) The offering of special rates or services to persons 50 years of age or older.; (d) The enforcement of laws governing the minimum age requirement for the purchase of a firearm, as defined in section 1 of this 2019 Act, by persons under 21 years of age at a place of public accommodation where firearms are sold; or (e) A gun dealer or person transferring a firearm at a gun show from enforcing minimum age restrictions on the purchase of firearms pursuant to section 1 of this 2019 Act.
(3) It is an unlawful practice for any person to deny full and equal accommodations, advantages, facilities and privileges of any place of public accommodation in violation of this section.