LEAP Forward
Politicizing Guns since 2017

Legislation

Oregon HB 3223 - Assault Weapons

Oregon.png

Oregon HB 3223

Relating to assault weapons; declaring an emergency

by Carla Piluso (D) with Margaret Doherty (D), Lew Frederick (D), Alissa Keny-Guyer (D), Laurie Monnes Anderson (D), Tawna Sanchez (D), Elizabeth Steiner Hayward (D), Kathleen Taylor (D)


LEAP Forward Position: Support

Laws requiring gun owners to register their firearms ensure gun owner accountability and help law enforcement solve crimes and disarm criminals. Despite the clear advantages inherent in registration laws, few states have such laws on the books—and some prohibit them outright.

- Giffords Law Center

500px-Blue_check.svg.png

Requires person who owns assault weapon on effective date of Act to register assault weapon
or take other specified action within one year of effective date of Act. Defines terms. Punishes violation by maximum of $2,000 fine, or by maximum of six months’ imprisonment, $2,500 fine, or both,
for second and subsequent convictions.

Prohibits manufacture, transfer or possession of assault weapon except in specified circumstances. Punishes by maximum of 364 days’ imprisonment, $6,250 fine, or both.

Requires report of loss or theft of assault weapon. Punishes failure to report by maximum of 364
days’ imprisonment, $6,250 fine, or both. Provides that information in report may not be used in
prosecution for possession or transfer of assault weapon.

Declares emergency, effective on passage.