Rhode Island S 469 - Penalties for Lost and Stolen Firearms

Rhode Island.jpg

Rhode Island S 469

Weapons

by Cynthia Coyne (D), Maryellen Goodwin (D), Erin Lynch Prata (D), Michael McCaffrey (D), Bridget Valverde (D)


LEAP Forward Position: Support

Laws requiring the reporting of lost or stolen firearms reduce illegal gun trafficking, making it easier for law enforcement to ensure that deadly weapons do not make their way into dangerous people’s hands. From preventing straw purchases to disarming prohibited persons, reporting laws protect citizens by making sure illegal firearm transfers don’t fall through the cracks.

- Giffords Law Center

500px-Blue_check.svg.png

municipal police department in the town where the firearm was last 5 located or, if there is no such police department, to the Rhode Island state police, within twenty- 6 four (24) Every person who owns a firearm shall report the loss or theft of their firearm to the hours of the discovery of the loss or theft. Whoever knowingly violates this section shall 7 be punished by a fine of not less than
one hundred dollars 8 ($100) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500), a term of imprisonment of not more than one 9 year, or both, and upon a second or subsequent conviction by a fine of not less than two hundred 10 fifty dollars ($250) and not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), a term of imprisonment of 11 not more than three (3) years, or both. 12

(b) Every person who knowingly makes a false report of a lost or stolen firearm shall be 13 punished by a fine of not less than one hundred dollars ($100) and up to five hundred dollars 14 ($500), a term of imprisonment of not more than one year, or both, and upon a second or 15 subsequent conviction by a fine of not less than two hundred fifty dollars ($250) and not more 16 than one thousand dollars ($1,000), a term of imprisonment of not more than three (3) years, or 17 both. 18