Oregon

Oregon

Oregon SB 925 - Local Control

Authorizes city, county, metropolitan service district or port operating certain commercial airports to adopt ordinance regulating or prohibiting possession of firearms in public buildings by concealed handgun licensees. Authorizes school district, college or university to adopt policy regulating or prohibiting possession of firearms in public buildings by concealed handgun licensees. Punishes possession of firearm in violation of ordinance or policy by maximum of five years' imprisonment, $125,000 fine, or both. Modifies definition of public building, for purposes of crime of possession of weapon in public building, to include certain airport areas, buildings owned or controlled by state or city agency and real property owned by college or university. Punishes violation by maximum of five years' imprisonment, $125,000 fine, or both. Exempts from prohibition person possessing firearm in certain airport areas when firearm is unloaded and in locked container for purposes of transporting firearm as checked baggage.

Oregon

Oregon HB 3265 - Large Capacity Magazines

Prohibits possession of large-capacity magazine 180 days after effective date of Act. Specifies manner in which person must alter or dispose of large-capacity magazine currently possessed by person. Prohibits use of large-capacity magazine upon effective date of Act. Exempts law enforcement and military personnel from prohibition in specified circumstances. Punishes unlawful possession of large-capacity magazine by maximum of $2,000 fine, or by maximum of six months' imprisonment, $2,500 fine, or both, for second and subsequent convictions. Punishes unlawful use of large-capacity magazine by maximum of 364 days' imprisonment, $6,250 fine, or both. Prohibits manufacture, purchase, transfer and sale of large-capacity magazine upon effective date of Act. Specifies exemptions. Punishes unlawful manufacture, purchase, transfer or sale of large-capacity magazine by maximum of 364 days' imprisonment, $6,250 fine, or both. Requires report of loss or theft of unaltered large-capacity magazine. Provides immunity from prosecution for possession or transfer of magazine if report made as required. Declares emergency, effective on passage.

Oregon

Oregon HB 3223 - Assault Weapons

Requires person who owns assault weapon on effective date of Act to register assault weapon or take other specified action within one year of effective date of Act. Defines terms. Punishes violation by maximum of $2,000 fine, or by maximum of six months' imprisonment, $2,500 fine, or both, for second and subsequent convictions. Prohibits manufacture, transfer or possession of assault weapon except in specified circumstances. Punishes by maximum of 364 days' imprisonment, $6,250 fine, or both. Requires report of loss or theft of assault weapon. Punishes failure to report by maximum of 364 days' imprisonment, $6,250 fine, or both. Provides that information in report may not be used in prosecution for possession or transfer of assault weapon. Declares emergency, effective on passage.

Oregon

Oregon HB 3149 -Minimum Age

Allows gun dealer or person transferring firearm at gun show to establish minimum age of at least 21 years of age for purchase of firearms. Creates exemption from antidiscrimination statute for enforcement of laws governing purchase of firearms by persons under 21 years of age and enforcement of policies that impose age-based restrictions on purchase of firearms in place of public accommodation.

Oregon

Oregon HB 2505 - The Cindy Yuille and Steven Forsythe Act

Requires owner or possessor of firearm to secure firearm with trigger or cable lock or in locked container except in specified circumstances. Punishes violation by maximum of $500 fine. If minor obtains unsecured firearm as result of violation, punishes by maximum of $2,000 fine. Provides that person who does not secure firearm as required is strictly liable for injury to person or property within four years after violation. Requires owner or possessor of firearm to secure firearm with trigger or cable lock or in locked container when transferring firearm except in specified circumstances. Punishes violation by maximum of $500 fine. Provides that person who transfers firearm without securing firearm is strictly liable for injury to person or property within four years after violation. Requires person to report loss or theft of firearm within 24 hours of time person knew or should have known of loss or theft. Punishes violation of requirement by maximum of $1,000 fine. Requires person transferring firearm to minor to directly supervise minor's use of firearm unless minor is owner of firearm. Provides that person who does not supervise minor as required is strictly liable for injury to person or property caused by minor's use of firearm. Directs Attorney General to specify by rule minimum specifications for trigger and cable locks and locked containers required by Act. Declares emergency, effective on passage.

Oregon

Oregon SB 275 - Safe Storage

Requires owner or possessor of firearm to secure firearm with trigger or cable lock or in locked container except in specified circumstances. Punishes violation by maximum of $500 fine. If minor obtains unsecured firearm as result of violation, punishes by maximum of $2,000 fine. Provides that person who does not secure firearm as required is strictly liable for injury to person or property within four years after violation. Requires owner or possessor of firearm to secure firearm with trigger or cable lock or in locked container when transferring firearm except in specified circumstances. Punishes violation by maximum of $500 fine. Provides that person who transfers firearm without securing firearm is strictly liable for injury to person or property within four years after violation. Requires person to report loss or theft of firearm within 24 hours of time person knew or should have known of loss or theft. Punishes violation of requirement by maximum of $1,000 fine. Requires person transferring firearm to minor to directly supervise minor’s use of firearm unless minor is owner of firearm. Provides that person who does not supervise minor as required is strictly liable for injury to person or property caused by minor’s use of firearm. Directs Attorney General to specify by rule minimum specifications for trigger and cable locks and locked containers required by Act. Declares emergency, effective on passage.

Oregon

Oregon SB 501 - Firearms Omnibus

Requires person to secure permit before purchasing or otherwise receiving firearm. Specifies

qualifications for permit and manner of applying for permit. Creates procedures for appealing denial

of permit. Punishes receipt of firearm without valid permit by maximum of 364 days’ imprisonment,

$6,250 fine, or both.

Requires person who owns or possesses firearm to secure firearm with trigger or cable lock or

in locked container. Punishes failure to secure firearm by maximum of 30 days’ imprisonment, $1,250

fine, or both.

Requires person who owns or possesses firearm to report to law enforcement agency loss or

theft of firearm within 24 hours. Punishes failure to report loss or theft by maximum of 30 days’

imprisonment, $1,250 fine, or both.

Prohibits possession of magazine with capacity to hold more than five rounds of ammunition.

Provides that person in possession of such magazine must sell or otherwise dispose of magazine

within 180 days of effective date of Act. Punishes unlawful possession of magazine capable of holding

more than five rounds by maximum of 364 days’ imprisonment, $6,250 fine, or both.

Requires criminal background check before transfer of ammunition. Restricts ammunition receipt to 20 rounds within 30-day period.

Prohibits transfer of firearm by gun dealer or private party until latter of 14 days or Department

of State Police has determined that recipient is qualified to receive firearm.